MUST… READ… IT… ALL… || Inspiration & Quotes

header13

I have this strange addiction – I adore books.

Like… I would read them 24/7, if I could, I would spend all my money only for books, I would buy books instead of food and more books instead of place to live. Basically – I would do everything just to have at least some books around me all the time.

I love to read in latvian and they definitely need to be paper books, but I’ve come to conclusion that it would be impossible to survive this way. There is this truly heartbreaking story about how I tried to survive without latvian books for altogether almost a year abroad, when I had no place to keep them and no place to buy them… But this one I’ll keep for some other time.

Only a process of holding a paper book will be the real reading for me, but recently I overcame myself and decided to start reading digital material that some people still tend to call a ‘book’. For the sake of design, I found some ‘must reads’ (free for starters). There are many resources to find such books, so I looked them through and saved the ones that could cross my point of interest and just changed from reading twitter to reading books.

The thing that I’m trying to say with all this is that I started to gather quotes from those books that I will eventually reveal to you. Lets just start here!

From book “How to be creative” by Hugh MacLeod

The sovereignty you have over your work will inspire far more people than the actual content ever will.

 

Your idea doesn’t have to be big. It just has to be yours alone. The more the idea is yours alone, the more freedom you have to do something really amazing.

 

[Publicist] business model is to basically throw the pasta against the wall, and see which one sticks. The ones that fall to the floor are just forgotten.

 

All existing business models are wrong. Find a new one.

From book “The Year Without Pants” by Sctott Berkun

There’s a deep emptiness in the lives of our most powerful people. Theirdrive for power is an attempt to fill that void. They remind me of the businessman in The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry. In the book, the businessman has all the stars in the universe but no idea what they are good for: he just always wants more of them. Too many company founders are just collecting stars.

 

Most people doubt online meetings can work, but they somehow overlook that most in-person meetings don’t work either.

 

Make a list. Write down the list of problems to solve or issues to fix. Get it out of their brain and on paper. It’s less stressful when its written down. Then put them in order of importance, with an order that everyone understands: what comes first, what comes next, and so on.

 

They decided to force customers to answer three good questions:
What did you do?
What did you see?
What did you expect?
These are clever queries. They’re often the first questions anyone doing support or first aid might ask someone in trouble. However, it didn’t do enough for one user, who left me a ticket with these answers:
I did: Errors
I saw: Errors
I expected: Solutions

That’s about it for this time! One book is done, (at least) 10 more to go, so quotes might overwhelm this place pretty hard at some point… Sorry or you’re welcome for that already!

Have a lovely weekend,
ieva.

Leave a Reply

